Towards the end of 7th grade, my students study informal commands. One of the mini projects that I have them do is create a poster with things to do and not to do in order to be a considered a good student. The project requirements have shifted over the years, but the current iteration asks for 7 positive and 7 negative commands, 4 (or more) direct object pronouns included, and there needs to be color because everything is more fun with color! 🙂

I’m looking to gauge their sentence structure, grasp of commands, and DOP usage among the general grammatical pieces. To that end, here is my current rubric. Besides being able to check where my students are mid unit, what I really love about this mini project is that it’s pretty open ended allowing for some pretty hilarious, creative work.

Some of the poster examples below are from a number of years ago (hence you’ll see Señora Daniel instead of Sundaram) and some are absolutely hysterical. I post these in the hallway when they’re done and it’s really fun to watch my students explain their posters to their friends!

Leave a comment